INTRODUCTORY NOTE - Public Consultations

Second series of proposals to harmonize federal law of the Province of Quebec

Today you will have an opportunity to examine documents concerning the public consultations on the second series of proposed legislative amendments to harmonize federal legislation with the civil law of the Province of Quebec. These consultations are being held as part of the Program to Harmonize Federal Legislation with the Civil Law of the Province of Quebec[1] of the Department of Justice Canada.

The Department of Justice Canada would like the views of Canadians concerning the proposed changes to certain federal statutes, found in the second attachment entitled Second series of proposals to harmonize federal law with the civil law of the Province of Quebec and to amend certain Acts in order to ensure that each language version takes into account the common law and the civil law, with a view to their inclusion in a second harmonization bill. This introduction will provide you with the context in which these proposals were developed.

Canadian bijuralism and the Harmonization Program

The coexistence in Canada of two legal systems which have their own unique terminology, civil law in the province of Quebec and common law in the other provinces and territories, means that federal legislation, acts and regulations, must speak to four audiences: common law anglophones, civil law anglophones, common law francophones, and civil law francophones.

This coexistence can be traced back to the Quebec Act, which was passed by the Parliament in London in 1774, and which restored to the colony those French laws, with the exception of criminal laws, that had existed prior to the British conquest and that were accordingly of civilian origin. The division of legislative powers provided for in the Constitution Act, 1867 maintained the coexistence of the two legal traditions since the power to legislate with respect to property and civil rights was conferred on the provinces under subsection 92(13). Consequently, the provinces have the power to legislate with respect to most private law, subject to specific areas of jurisdiction belonging to Parliament, such as bankruptcy and intellectual property.

The bijural status of Canada and its legislation, coupled with the fact that federal legislation, taken as a whole, does not constitute an autonomous legal system, means that when Parliament is silent on the meaning to be given to a private law expression to which reference is made, it is necessary to refer to the applicable provincial private law for interpretation. This is known as the principle of complementarity. Furthermore, a standard or rule of provincial private law will supplement a federal statute that is silent on a question relating to property and civil rights. The provincial private law is then applied in a suppletive manner to the federal statute. For example, when reference is made in a federal statute to the concept of lease without any further qualification, it is the private law of the province that will provide, on a suppletive basis, a definition of this concept. Similarly, a federal statute that does not provide specific rules with respect to successions will be interpreted, on a suppletive basis, according to the rules of provincial private law.[2]

However, federal law may derogate from private law and establish its own rules and the federal rule may then become a more or less autonomous one. This is called a relationship of dissociation.

The Harmonization Program was established by the Department of Justice Canada in the wake of the coming into force of the Civil Code of Québec on January 1, 1994, a new codification that changed the concepts, institutions and terminology of Quebec civil law. The Harmonization Program’s primary objective is to review all federal acts and regulations the application of which requires the use of provincial private law and, where necessary, adjust their contents to ensure that they are consistent with the concepts, institutions and terminology of Quebec civil law. Also, particular care is taken to ensure the respect of the common law in French.

As a result of the harmonization work done by the Department of Justice Canada, all Canadians, those living in Quebec, who are subject to the civil law, and those living in the other provinces and territories, who are subject to the common law, will be able to refer to federal acts and regulations that touch on private law which display a greater respect for their legal traditions in both official languages. The implementation of the Harmonization Program helps in this way to ensure better access to justice.

A series of harmonization acts

The Federal Law-Civil Law Harmonization Act, No. 1,[3] which came into force on June 1, 2001, as chapter 4 of the Statutes of Canada 2001, is an important first step in the implementation of the Harmonization Program. It is the first act of its kind and it serves and will serve as a model for the other acts that will follow until all the provisions of federal legislation that refer to private law have been harmonized.

Besides the first series of harmonization amendments, the Harmonization Act, No. 1 also contains additions to the Interpretation Act[4] that recognize the principle of complementarity between provincial private law and federal law.

New sections 8.1 and 8.2 of the Interpretation Act provide as follows:

Section 8.1 Both the common law and the civil law are equally authoritative and recognized sources of the law of property and civil rights in Canada and, unless otherwise provided by law, if in interpreting an enactment it is necessary to refer to a province's rules, principles or concepts forming part of the law of property and civil rights, reference must be made to the rules, principles and concepts in force in the province at the time the enactment is being applied.

Section 8.2 Unless otherwise provided by law, when an enactment contains both civil law and common law terminology, or terminology that has a different meaning in the civil law and the common law, the civil law terminology or meaning is to be adopted in the Province of Quebec and the common law terminology or meaning is to be adopted in the other provinces.

Consequently, any question of complementarity or suppletive law and of course, the harmonization proposals themselves, must be considered in light of these provisions.

The Harmonization Act, No. 1 is the result of both internal work at the Department of Justice Canada that was carried out in close co-operation with the departments responsible for the application of the acts in question, and the contributions of a number of stakeholders, including the Barreau du Québec, the Chambre des Notaires du Québec, the Canadian Bar Association, the Ministère de la Justice du Québec and many professors and experts in civil law and comparative law. The second series of harmonization proposals has also been prepared in co-operation with the departments responsible for the acts affected and with the support of a number of professors and experts from outside government. We hope that the public consultations on which we are embarking will again benefit from the insight and expertise of all who contributed in the past to the Harmonization Act, No. 1.

With a few exceptions, this second series of harmonization proposals is designed to complete the harmonization of all the acts that were partially harmonized by the Harmonization Act, No. 1. Some of you will recall that only a few fields of private law were taken into account at that time. The second series of proposals covers the remaining fields of private law.

In addition to focusing on the acts that are already in force, the Bijuralism and Drafting Support Services Group,[5] which is responsible for harmonization and bijural drafting in the Department of Justice Canada, also ensures that all new acts and regulations are analyzed and that recommendations are made concerning bijuralism. The same is now true of tax statutes, for which harmonization amendments have recently been passed by Parliament.[6]

Bijural records and useful references

Following the enactment and coming into force of the Harmonization Act, No. 1, bijural terminology records were published on the web site of the Department of Justice Canada.[7] Given the innovative nature of legislative bijuralism, these records are helpful in explaining the harmonization provisions arising from the Harmonization Act, No. 1. Some of the harmonization amendments to tax statutes also appear there. Other records will be added to the site as new harmonization provisions are enacted.

These records provide a better understanding of the changes made to federal statutes. They are also useful in the current consultations because, out of concern for consistency, some of the solutions they describe are repeated in the second series of proposals.

Note that in a recent unanimous judgment,[8] the Supreme Court of Canada used these bijural terminology records to interpret legislation that had been amended as a result of the Harmonization Act, No. 1.

We have included in the first attachment new explanatory records that correspond to some of the proposals made during the current public consultations.

Moreover, over the last five years, the Department of Justice Canada has published works on Canadian bijuralism and the harmonization of federal acts in order to ensure that our harmonization work is better known and understood.

In 1997, the first collection of studies was published: The Harmonization of Federal Legislation with the Civil Law of the Province of Quebec and Canadian Bijuralism, Collection of Studies. This collection consists of studies by university professors and experts in civil and comparative law.

In 2001, a second collection was published: The Harmonization of Federal Legislation with the Civil Law of the Province of Quebec and Canadian Bijuralism, Second Publication. It deals with, among other things, the history of various aspects of the Harmonization Program and bijuralism.[9]

In September 2002, a third collection, dealing with harmonization questions relating to tax law, The Harmonization of Federal Legislation with the Quebec Civil Law and Canadian Bijuralism, Collection of Studies in Tax Law, was published in collaboration with the Fiscal and Financial Planning Association.

Other publications will be added as the work carried out under the Harmonization Program progresses and this will ensure ongoing dissemination of knowledge related to bijuralism and harmonization in Canada.

A special issue of the Revue juridique Thémis, scheduled for February 2003, will be devoted to the harmonization of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. As part of the current public consultations, this special initiative explains in greater detail the amendments proposed for this Act.

Your comments

Please submit your comments to the Department of Justice Canada no later than April 30, 2003, to the attention of Alain Vauclair, General Counsel, as indicated below. Comments received by that date will be examined and will be the subject of a report to be sent to those who submitted them and to any other group, association or person who so requests. We reserve the right to reproduce, in whole or in part, the comments we receive.

Alain Vauclair, General Counsel
Bijuralism and Drafting Support Services Group
Legislative Services Branch
Department of Justice of Canada
275 Sparks Street
St Andrew’s Tower, 7th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H8
 
Fax: (613) 954-1209
E-mail: consultations@justice.gc.ca


Footnotes

  • [1] Hereinafter referred to as the “Harmonization Program.”

  • [2] See the detailed analysis of the basis of this suppletive relationship by the Honourable Justice Décary of the Federal Court of Appeal in St-Hilaire v. Canada (Attorney General), [2001] 4 F.C. 289 (C.A.).

  • [3] Hereinafter referred to as “Harmonization Act, No. 1.”

  • [4] R.S.C. 1985, c. I-21.

  • [5] A new unit to which the former Civil Code Section has been integrated.

  • [6] An Act to amend the Income Tax Act, the Income Tax Application Rules, certain Acts related to the Income Tax Act, the Canada Pension Plan, the Customs Act, the Excise Tax Act, the Modernization of Benefits and Obligations Act and another Act related to the Excise Tax Act, S.C. 2001, c. 17; An Act to amend the Customs Act and to make related amendments to other Acts, S.C. 2001, c. 25; An Act respecting the taxation of spirits, wine and tobacco and the treatment of ships' stores, S.C. 2002, c. 22.

  • [7] http://canada.justice.gc.ca/eng/pi/bj/harm/index.html.

  • [8] Schreiber v. Canada (Attorney General), [2002] S.C.J. (Quicklaw) No. 63 (S.C.C.), the Honourable Justice Lebel for the Court at paragraphs 72 to 79.

  • [9] This collection is available at the following web site: http://canada.justice.gc.ca/eng/rp-pr/csj-sjc/harmonization/index.html .

[ Index Page

Date modified:

DOCUMENT DE PRÉSENTATION - Consultations publiques

Deuxième série de propositions visant à harmoniser le droit fédéral avec le droit civil de la province de Québec

Vous prenez aujourd’hui connaissance des documents relatifs aux consultations publiques sur la deuxième série de propositions de modifications législatives visant à harmoniser la législation fédérale avec le droit civil de la province de Québec, lesquelles consultations sont menées dans le cadre du Programme d’harmonisation de la législation fédérale avec le droit civil de la province de Québec[1] du ministère de la Justice du Canada.

Le ministère de la Justice du Canada sollicite l’opinion des Canadiens et des Canadiennes sur les changements proposés à certaines lois fédérales qui se retrouvent en deuxième annexe, intitulée Deuxième série de propositions visant à harmoniser le droit fédéral avec le droit civil de la province de Québec et modifiant certaines lois pour que chaque version linguistique tienne compte du droit civil et de la common law, en vue de les inclure dans un deuxième projet de loi d’harmonisation. Avant de prendre connaissance de ces propositions, ce document de présentation vous permettra de mieux situer le contexte dans lequel ces propositions ont été élaborées.

Le bijuridisme canadien et le Programme d’harmonisation

La coexistence au Canada de deux systèmes juridiques, le droit civil dans la province de Québec et la common law dans les autres provinces et territoires, chacun ayant sa propre terminologie et ses propres institutions, fait en sorte que la législation fédérale, lois et règlements, doit respecter quatre auditoires : les francophones de droit civil, les anglophones de droit civil, les anglophones de common law et les francophones de common law.

Cette coexistence formelle peut être retracée à l’Acte de Québec, adopté par le Parlement de Londres en 1774, qui restaura dans la colonie, sauf en matière criminelle et pénale, les lois françaises antérieures à la conquête britannique et donc essentiellement un droit d’origine civiliste. Le partage des compétences législatives prévu à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 a maintenu cette coexistence des deux traditions juridiques, le pouvoir de légiférer en matière de propriété et de droits civils ayant alors été attribué aux provinces en vertu du paragraphe 92(13). En conséquence, les provinces ont le pouvoir de légiférer quant à l’essentiel du droit privé, sous réserve des compétences propres au Parlement telles la faillite et la propriété intellectuelle.

Ce statut bijuridique du Canada, combiné au fait que l’ensemble des lois fédérales ne constitue pas un système juridique autonome, fait en sorte que, d’une part, le législateur fédéral doit tenir compte, dans la conception de ses lois et règlements, des différents droits provinciaux afin de construire les normes juridiques qu’il édicte et, d’autre part, lorsque le texte législatif est muet sur le sens à donner à une expression de droit privé auquel il fait référence, l’on doit recourir au droit privé provincial applicable pour interpréter cette dernière. C’est ce qui a été convenu de nommer le principe de complémentarité. De plus, une norme ou une règle de droit privé provinciale complétera un texte fédéral silencieux sur un aspect qui relève de la propriété et des droits civils. Le droit privé provincial est alors appliqué à titre supplétif à la législation fédérale. À titre d’exemple, on dira lorsque l’on fait référence au concept du bail, sans autre précision, que c’est le droit privé provincial qui donne une signification à ce concept à titre complémentaire. De la même façon, une loi fédérale qui n’aurait pas prévu de règles particulières en matière successorale devra, à titre supplétif, être interprétée en fonction des règles de droit privé provincial.[2]

Le droit fédéral peut par ailleurs se dissocier du droit privé et établir ses propres règles de droit, la règle fédérale devenant alors une règle plus ou moins autonome. C’est ce qui a été convenu de nommer un rapport de dissociation.

Le Programme d’harmonisation a été établi par le ministère de la Justice du Canada dans le contexte de l’entrée en vigueur du Code civil du Québec, le 1er janvier 1994, nouvelle codification qui est venue modifier les concepts, les institutions et la terminologie du droit civil québécois. Le Programme d’harmonisation a d’abord pour objectif de réviser toutes les lois et tous les règlements fédéraux dont l’application requiert le recours au droit privé provincial et, au besoin, d’en adapter le contenu de sorte qu’il soit compatible avec les concepts, les institutions et la terminologie du droit civil québécois. De plus, une attention particulière est apportée au respect de la common law en français.

Grâce aux travaux d’harmonisation entrepris par le ministère de la Justice du Canada, les Canadiens et les Canadiennes pourront se référer à des lois et règlements fédéraux plus respectueux de leurs traditions juridiques dans les deux langues officielles. Les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, tant ceux régis par le droit civil au Québec que ceux régis par la common law dans les autres provinces et territoires, pourront en effet lire les textes fédéraux traitant de droit privé en ayant recours à une terminologie, des notions et des institutions plus respectueuses de leurs traditions juridiques et de leurs langues d’expression respectives. La mise en oeuvre du Programme d’harmonisation contribue ainsi à assurer un meilleur accès à la justice.

Une série de lois d’harmonisation

La Loi d'harmonisation n° 1 du droit fédéral avec le droit civil[3], entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2001 au chapitre 4 des Lois du Canada 2001, représente une première étape importante dans la mise en œuvre du Programme d’harmonisation. Il s’agit de la première loi du genre qui sert et servira de modèle aux autres lois qui se succéderont jusqu’à ce que l’ensemble des dispositions de la législation fédérale, faisant appel au droit privé, soient harmonisées.

Outre la première série de modifications d’harmonisation, la Loi d’harmonisation no 1 comporte des ajouts à la Loi d’interprétation[4] reconnaissant le principe de la complémentarité du droit privé provincial au droit fédéral.

Les nouveaux articles 8.1 et 8.2 de la Loi d’interprétation prévoient que :

Article 8.1 « Le droit civil et la common law font pareillement autorité et sont tous deux sources de droit en matière de propriété et de droits civils au Canada et, s’il est nécessaire de recourir à des règles, principes ou notions appartenant au domaine de la propriété et des droits civils en vue d’assurer l’application d’un texte dans une province, il faut, sauf règle de droit s’y opposant, avoir recours aux règles, principes et notions en vigueur dans cette province au moment de l’application du texte. »

Article 8.2 « Sauf règle de droit s’y opposant, est entendu dans un sens compatible avec le système juridique de la province d’application le texte qui emploie à la fois des termes propres au droit civil de la province de Québec et des termes propres à la common law des autres provinces, ou qui emploie des termes qui ont un sens différent dans l’un et l’autre de ces systèmes. »

Conséquemment, toute question de complémentarité ou de droit supplétif et, évidemment les propositions d’harmonisation, doivent être abordées à la lumière de ces articles.

La Loi d’harmonisation n° 1 résulte à la fois d’un travail interne au ministère de la Justice du Canada, mené en étroite collaboration avec les ministères responsables des lois visées, et de l’apportde plusieurs intervenants, dont le Barreau du Québec, la Chambre des Notaires du Québec, l’Association du Barreau canadien, le ministère de la Justice du Québec ainsi que de nombreux professeurs et experts en droit civil et en droit comparé. La deuxième série de propositions d’harmonisation a aussi été élaborée en collaboration avec les ministères responsables des lois qui y sont visées et avec le concours de certains experts externes au gouvernement. Nous espérons que les consultations publiques que nous entreprenons bénéficieront à nouveau de l’apport et de l’expertise des nombreux intervenants qui ont, par le passé, contribué à la Loi d’harmonisation n° 1.

Sous réserve de quelques exceptions, cette deuxième série de propositions d’harmonisation vise à compléter l’harmonisation de toutes les lois que la Loi d’harmonisation n° 1 avait partiellement harmonisées. Certains se souviendront que seuls quelques domaines du droit privé étaient alors abordés. La deuxième série de propositions vise tous les autres domaines du droit privé.

Le Groupe du bijuridisme et des services d’appui à la rédaction[5], responsable de l’harmonisation et de la rédaction bijuridique au sein du ministère de la Justice du Canada, en plus de s’intéresser aux lois déjà en vigueur, s’assure que toutes les lois et tous les règlements nouveaux font l’objet d’une analyse et de recommandations eu égard au bijuridisme. Il en va de même dorénavant dans le domaine des lois fiscales où des modifications d’harmonisation ont récemment été adoptées par le Parlement[6].

Des fiches bijuridiques et des références utiles

Suite à l’adoption et à l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi d’harmonisation no 1,des fiches terminologiques bijuridiques ont été publiées sur le site internet du ministère de la Justice du Canada[7]. En effet, compte tenu du caractère innovateur du bijuridisme législatif, ces fiches expliquent les dispositions d’harmonisation découlant de la Loi d'harmonisation n° 1. Certaines modifications d'harmonisation que l’on retrouve dans les lois fiscales y figurent aussi. D'autres fiches seront ajoutées au fur et à mesure de l'adoption de nouvelles dispositions d'harmonisation.

Ces fiches permettent de mieux comprendre les changements qui ont été apportés aux lois fédérales. Elles sont utiles dans le contexte des présentes consultations, puisque certaines des solutions aux problèmes de bijuridisme et d’harmonisation sont reprises, par souci de cohérence, dans le cadre de la deuxième série de propositions.

À noter que dans un récent jugement unanime[8], la Cour suprême du Canada a utilisé ces fiches terminologiques bijuridiques pour interpréter des textes législatifs ayant fait l’objet de modifications dans le cadre de la Loi d’harmonisation no 1.

Nous joignons en première annexe des fiches explicatives nouvelles correspondant à certaines des propositions soumises dans le cadre des présentes consultations publiques.

Par ailleurs, depuis cinq ans, le ministère de la Justice du Canada a publié des ouvrages sur le bijuridisme canadien et l’harmonisation des lois fédérales afin de mieux faire connaître et comprendre nos travaux d’harmonisation.

En 1997, un premier recueil d’études a été publié : L’harmonisation de la législation fédérale avec le droit civil québécois et le bijuridisme canadien, recueil d’études. Ce recueil est constitué d’études de professeurs et d’experts en droit civil et comparé.

En 2001, un second recueil a été publié : L’harmonisation de la législation fédérale avec le droit civil de la province de Québec et le bijuridisme canadien, deuxième publication. Ces textes traitent, entre autres, de l’historique et de divers aspects du Programme d’harmonisation et du bijuridisme[9].

En septembre 2002, un troisième recueil traitant principalement de questions d’harmonisation reliées au droit fiscal, L’harmonisation de la législation fédérale avec le droit civil québécois et le bijuridisme canadien, recueil d’études en fiscalité, a été publiée en collaboration avec l’Association de planification fiscale et financière.

D’autres publications viendront s’ajouter au fur et à mesure que les travaux menés dans le cadre du Programme d’harmonisation progresseront, assurant ainsi une diffusion continue des connaissances relatives au bijuridisme et à l’harmonisation au Canada.

Pour votre information, un numéro spécial de la Revue juridique Thémis, prévu pour le mois de février 2003, sera consacré à l’harmonisation de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité. Il s’agit d’une initiative particulière, dans le cadre des présentes consultations publiques, qui explique plus en détail les modifications proposées en ce qui concerne cette loi.

Vos commentaires

Nous vous demandons de soumettre vos commentaires au ministère de la Justice du Canada d’ici le 30 avril 2003 à l’attention de Me Alain Vauclair, avocat général, tel qu’indiqué ci-dessous. Les commentaires reçus à cette date seront examinés et feront l’objet d’un rapport à être transmis à leurs auteurs ainsi qu’à tout autre groupe, association ou personne qui en fera la demande. Nous nous réservons le droit de reproduire dans ce rapport, en totalité ou en partie, les commentaires que nous recevrons.

Me Alain Vauclair, avocat général
Groupe du Bijuridisme et des services d’appui à la rédaction
Direction des Services législatifs
Ministère de la Justice du Canada
275, rue Sparks
Tour St-Andrew, 7e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H8

Télécopieur : (613) 954-1209
Courriel : consultations@justice.gc.ca


Notes de bas de page

  • [1] Ci-après cité « Programme d’harmonisation ».

  • [2] Voir l’analyse détaillée des fondements de ce rapport supplétif de l’honorable juge Décary de la Cour d’appel fédérale dans l’affaire St-Hilaire c. Canada (Procureur général), [2001] 4 C.F. 289 (C.A.).

  • [3] Ci-après citée « Loi d’harmonisation n° 1 ».

  • [4] L.R.C. (1985), c. I-21.

  • [5] Nouvelle unité à laquelle a été intégrée l’ancienne Section du Code civil.

  • [6] Loi modifiant la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, les Règles concernant l’application de l’impôt sur le revenu, certaines lois liées à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, le Régime de pensions du Canada, la Loi sur les douanes, la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, la Loi sur la modernisation de certains régimes d’avantages et d’obligations et une loi liée à la Loi sur la taxe d’accise, L.C. 2001, c. 17; Loi modifiant la Loi sur les douanes et d’autres lois en conséquence, L.C. 2001, c. 25; Loi visant la taxation des spiritueux, du vin et du tabac et le traitement des provisions de bord, L.C. 2002, c. 22.

  • [7] [ http://canada.justice.gc.ca/fra/cons/harm/index.html ].

  • [8] Schreiber c. Canada (Procureur général), [2002] A.C.S. (Quicklaw) no 63 (C.S.C.), l’honorable juge Lebel pour la Cour aux paragraphes 72 à 79.

  • [9] Ce dernier recueil est disponible à l’adresse suivante : [ http://canada.justice.gc.ca/fra/pr-rp/sjc-csj/harmonization/index.html ].

[ Index ]

Date de modification :