Department of Justice Canadian Victims Bill of Rights Complaint Form

Privacy and Access to Information

(Please read this section before completing the form)

The information provided in this form is collected for the Department of Justice Canadian Victims Bill of Rights (CVBR) Complaints Mechanism under the authority of the CVBR and for the purpose of assessing whether or not a complaint meets the basic criteria of the CVBR. If the information provided on this form is incomplete, it may be determined that your complaint does not meet the basic criteria of the CVBR.

All personal information provided in this document will be stored, protected, used, and disclosed in accordance with the Privacy Act. Personal information may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Department or for a use consistent with that purpose. The information collected will be kept for at least 2 years. For more information, please see http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/terms-avis/index.html.

If you have a privacy concern and are not satisfied with our response to your concern, you may wish to file a complaint to the Privacy Commissioner by e-mail at: info@privcom.gc.ca or by telephone at 1-800-282-1376. In addition, every individual present in Canada has a right to request access to information relating to them that is under the control of a government institution under the Privacy Act, as well as the right to request the correction of their personal information.

Procedures

(Please read this section before completing the form)

The Canadian Victims Bill of Rights (CVBR) defines a victim as an individual who has suffered physical or emotional harm, economic loss or property damage as a result of a crime committed in Canada. All victims may exercise their rights under the CVBR while they are in Canada. Canadian citizens or permanent residents may exercise these rights even if they are outside of Canada, as long as the crime took place in Canada.

A victim may file a complaint if they are of the opinion that their rights under the CVBR have been infringed or denied (i.e. not respected) by a federal agency or department during their interaction with the Canadian criminal justice system. For example, a victim may be of the opinion that their right to information was not respected because the information they requested from a federal office was not provided and may decide to file a complaint through that federal office's complaint process.

The criminal justice system refers to the particular processes involved in the investigation and prosecution of offences in Canada, the corrections and conditional release process in Canada, and the proceedings of Canadian courts and Review Boards in respect of accused who are found not criminally responsible on account of mental disorder or unfit to stand trial.

The Department of Justice CVBR Complaints Policy

The Department of Justice CVBR Complaints Policy applies only to an alleged infringement or denial of rights provided under the CVBR by the Department of Justice Canada. The Department of Justice Canada is responsible for the following types of CVBR complaints:

  • Complaints concerning general information requested by the complainant about the criminal justice system, which relates to the right to information ; and
  • Complaints concerning victim access to the Parole Board Fund to attend parole board hearings, which relates to the right to participation.

If your complaint does not relate to one of the above, it may not be related to the Department of Justice CVBR Complaints Policy.

The following are not accepted as complaints under the policy:

  • unsigned documents submitted as complaints;
  • access to information and privacy requests;
  • concerns expressed over the content or progress of legislation;
  • concerns expressed over judicial proceedings;
  • concerns expressed in respect of the justice system that do not fall under the mandate of the Department of Justice, including concerns related to policing or to the investigation or prosecution of a crime;
  • internal grievances from Justice employees, agents, or former staff members;
  • vexatious, frivolous or abusive submissions;
  • complaints filed by a person who does not have standing to file a complaint as the person:
    • does not meet the definition of victim in the CVBR; or
    • their circumstances do not meet the application requirements of the CVBR;
  • complaints filed outside the ninety (90) days of the events giving rise to the complaint;
  • complaints regarding the Department of Justice Canadians Victimized Abroad program (with the exception of the rare case where investigations are conducted or charges are laid in Canada for the offence committed outside Canada); or
  • complaints regarding a crime committed outside Canada, which have no link to the Canadian criminal justice system.

Your Contact Information (You are the complainant)

At which number(s) can we reach you during the day? (check all that apply)


Can we leave a message at your (check all that apply)


If any of your personal contact information changes during the complaint process, it is your responsibility to inform the Department of Justice. Your file may be closed if the Department of Justice cannot reach you because you did not provide your current contact information.

Your Complaint is Against the Department of Justice Canada (This is the respondent)

Please provide the following information

Are you a victim of crime? ‘‘Victim’’ means: an individual who has suffered physical or emotional harm, property damage or economic loss as the result of the commission or alleged commission of a criminal offence in Canada. Please select the button that applies to you:
Has the Department of Justice Canada infringed or denied your rights provided under the CVBR? Please select the button that applies to you:
Which rights were infringed or denied?

For information on victims' rights, we invite you to visit the Canada.ca web page on Victims' Roles and Rights in the Criminal Justice System.

Please select the box/boxes that apply to you and briefly indicate how each right was infringed or denied.

You may submit a concern that does not relate to the CVBR through the following methods:

Email: webadmin@justice.gc.ca

Telephone: 613-957-4222

TDD/TTY: 613-992-4556

Fax: 613-954-0811

Mailing Address:
Department of Justice Canada
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada  K1A 0H8

Are you acting on a victim’s behalf? Where a victim is deceased or otherwise incapable of exercising their rights under the CVBR, an individual may act on the victim’s behalf if they are or were the victim’s spouse or common-law partner, a relative or dependent of the victim, the parent or caregiver of the victim, or the parent or caregiver of the dependent of the victim.

Please select the button that applies to you:
Did the offence occur in Canada?

Please select the button that applies to you:
Please select the boxes that apply to you:

When did the breach of the rights under the CVBR take place? Give the start date and the end date of the alleged events below.

The Department of Justice Canada can refuse to deal with a complaint that is filed more than ninety (90) days of the events giving rise to the complaint.

Write a statement to support your complaint

Please include all of the following information:

  • How were your rights under the CVBR infringed or denied (i.e. not respected)?
  • Give the full names of the people involved in your complaint (if known).
  • What happened? Give the dates of each event.

Instructions

Please write out your allegations on separate paper and attach the pages to this form. The text must not be more than three (3) letter-sized (21.5 cm by 28 cm or 8 ½ by 11 inches) pages long, with margins of not less than 2.5 cm or 1 inch, and should be typed single-spaced in 12-point font or legibly printed in dark ink. Do not attach any other documents to the complaint. If your complaint is accepted, you may be asked for these documents at a later date. Complaints that are not in this format may be returned.

Please read the statements below and sign and date below to confirm your agreement

I am making a complaint under the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights (CVBR) for assessment by the Department of Justice Canada (DOJ). I have reasonable grounds for believing that my rights under the CVBR as a victim of crime have been infringed or denied. I declare that the information I provided is true to the best of my knowledge or belief.

I understand that the personal information provided in this complaint form is collected under the authority of the CVBR and, along with all of the personal information obtained or compiled by the DOJ regarding this complaint, will be protected under the Privacy Act. Such information is to be used and/or disclosed for the purpose of the processing of this CVBR complaint (or some consistent purpose) or as otherwise required by law. As such, any and all of the information that I provide may be shared with the respondent.

I consent to the release to the DOJ of all information and documents concerning me that the DOJ considers necessary to deal with my complaint. Such documents may include my personal records or data which relate to the complaint.

Complainant's signature:

Consent

Please read the statement below and sign and date below if you consent:

I consent to the Department of Justice Canada sharing this application with other government departments or agencies, if necessary, where this application applies to another federal department's CVBR complaint mechanism:

Please select the button that applies to you:

Complainant's signature:

Date modified:

Plainte en vertu de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes (CCDV) adressée au ministère de la Justice du Canada

Protection des renseignements personnels et accès à l’information

(veuillez lire cette section avant de remplir le formulaire)

Les renseignements fournis dans le présent formulaire sont recueillis dans le cadre du mécanisme de plainte relative à la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes (CCDV) du ministère de la Justice sous l’autorité de la CCDV et pour évaluer si votre plainte remplit les critères de base de la CCDV. Si les renseignements fournis dans le présent formulaire sont incomplets, il pourrait être déterminé que votre plainte ne remplit pas les critères de base de la CCDV.

Les renseignements personnels fournis dans le présent document seront stockés, protégés, utilisés et divulgués conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. La communication de renseignements personnels est autorisée aux fins pour lesquels ils ont été recueillis ou préparés par le Ministère ou pour les usages qui sont compatibles avec ces fins. Les renseignements seront conservés au moins 2 ans. Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter le site Web suivant http://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/avis-terms/index.html.

Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de notre réponse à vos préoccupations sur la protection de vos renseignements personnels, nous vous suggérons de déposer une plainte par courriel auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée à l’adresse : info@privcom.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 1-800-282-1376. En outre, toute personne se trouvant au Canada a le droit de consulter les renseignements personnels à son sujet qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, de même que le droit de demander à ce que ces renseignements soient corrigés.

Procédures

(veuillez lire cette section avant de remplir le formulaire)

La Charte canadienne des droits des victimes (CCDV) définit une victime comme une personne qui a subi des dommages physiques ou psychologiques, matériels ou financiers à la suite d’un acte criminel commis au Canada. Toutes les victimes peuvent exercer les droits que confère la CCDV pendant qu’elles se trouvent au Canada. Les citoyens canadiens et les résidents permanents peuvent les exercer même quand ils se trouvent à l’extérieur du Canada, à la condition que le crime ait été perpétré au Canada.

Une victime peut déposer une plainte si elle estime que les droits que la CCDV lui confère ont été violés ou niés (autrement dit, qu’ils n’ont pas été respectés) par un organisme ou un ministère fédéral lors de ses rapports avec le système de justice pénale canadien. Par exemple, une victime peut être d’avis que son droit à l’information n’a pas été respecté parce que l’information qu’elle a demandée auprès d’un bureau fédéral ne lui a pas été communiquée et elle peut décider de déposer une plainte par l’entremise du mécanisme de plainte de ce bureau fédéral.

Le système de justice pénale désigne les procédés particuliers inhérents aux enquêtes et poursuites liées aux infractions commises au Canada, au processus correctionnel et de libération conditionnelle au Canada et aux procédures des tribunaux et des commissions d’examen du Canada visant les personnes accusées qui sont jugées non criminellement responsables pour cause de troubles mentaux ou inaptes à subir leur procès.

Politique du ministère de la Justice sur les plaintes liées à la CCDV

La politique du ministère de la Justice sur les plaintes liées à la CCDV s’applique à la violation ou au déni de droits allégué dont il est question dans la CCDV, de la part du ministère de la Justice du Canada. Le ministère de la Justice du Canada est responsable des types ci-dessous de plaintes relatives à la CCDV :

  • les plaintes concernant des renseignements généraux que le plaignant a demandés sur le système de justice pénale, qui se rapportent au droit à l’information;
  • les plaintes concernant l’accès de la victime au Fonds de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada pour assister à des audiences de la Commission, qui se rapportent au droit à la participation.

Si votre plainte ne se rapporte pas à l’une des catégories ci-dessus, elle ne relève peut-être pas de la politique du ministère de la Justice sur les plaintes liées à la CCDV.

Les éléments suivants ne sont pas recevables à titre de plainte aux termes de la politique :

  • des documents non signés présentés aux fins d’une plainte;
  • les demandes d’accès à l’information et aux renseignements personnels;
  • toute préoccupation concernant le contenu ou l’évolution d’une loi;
  • toute préoccupation concernant certaines procédures judiciaires;
  • toute préoccupation concernant une composante du système de justice qui ne relève pas du ministère de la Justice Canada, y compris la police et les autres organismes d’enquête, ou la poursuite de l’infraction criminelle;
  • les griefs internes présentés par les employés, les mandataires ou les anciens employés du ministère de la Justice;
  • les motifs sans gravité, vexatoires, frivoles ou abusifs;
  • toute plainte déposée par une personne n’ayant pas qualité pour le faire parce qu’elle :
    • ne satisfait pas à la définition de victime au titre de la CCDV;
    • ne répond pas aux exigences relatives à l’application de la CCDV;
  • les plaintes déposées après que se soit écoulé le délai de quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours suivant le moment auquel les événements ayant donné lieu à la plainte sont survenus;
  • les plaintes concernant le programme pour les Canadiens victimes d’actes criminels à l’étranger du ministère de la Justice (à l’exception des rares cas dans lesquels des enquêtes sont menées ou des accusations sont portées au Canada à l’égard de l’infraction commise hors du Canada);
  • les plaintes relatives à un crime commis hors du Canada, qui n’ont aucun lien avec le système de justice pénale canadien.

Vos coordonnées (Vous êtes le (la) plaignant(e))

À quel(s) numéro(s) pouvons-nous vous joindre le jour? (cochez toutes les réponses qui s’appliquent)


Pouvons-nous laisser un message à votre (cochez toutes les réponses qui s’appliquent)


Si certaines de vos coordonnées changent au cours du processus de traitement de la plainte, vous devez en informer le ministère de la Justice. Si ce dernier n’arrive pas à vous joindre parce que vous n’avez pas mis à jour vos coordonnées, votre dossier pourrait être fermé.

Votre plainte vise le ministère de la Justice du Canada (il s’agit du mis en cause)

Veuillez fournir les renseignements ci-dessous

Êtes-vous une victime d’actes criminels? « victime » Particulier qui a subi des dommages – matériels, corporels ou moraux – ou des pertes économiques par suite de la perpétration ou prétendue perpétration d’une infraction. Veuillez sélectionnez le bouton qui s’applique à votre situation :
Le ministère de la Justice a-t-il violé ou nié les droits que la CCDV vous confère? Veuillez sélectionnez le bouton qui s’applique à votre situation :
Quels droits ont été violés ou niés?

Pour obtenir de l’information concernant les droits des victimes, nous vous invitons à consulter la section Rôle et droits des victimes dans le système de justice pénale du site Internet Canada.ca.

Cochez le(s) case(s) qui s’appliquent à votre situation et décrivez brièvement comment chaque droit a été violé ou nié.

Vous pouvez soumettre une préoccupation non liée à la CCDV en utilisant l’un des moyens ci‑dessous :

Courriel : webadmin@justice.gc.ca

Téléphone : 613-957-4222

ATS/TTY : 613-992-4556

Télécopieur : 613-954-0811

Adresse postale :
Ministère de la Justice du Canada
284, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada  K1A 0H8

Agissez-vous pour le compte d’une victime? Lorsqu’une victime est décédée ou incapable d’exercer ses droits en vertu de la CCDV, un particulier peut agir pour le compte de la victime s’il est ou était l’époux ou le conjoint de fait de la victime, s’il est un parent ou une personne à charge, s’il est le parent ou la personne s’occupant de la victime ou s’il est le parent ou la personne s’occupant d’une personne à charge de la victime.

Sélectionnez le bouton qui s’applique à votre situation :
L’infraction a-t-elle été commise au Canada?

Sélectionnez le bouton qui s’appliquent à votre situation :
Cochez les cases qui s’appliquent à votre situation :

À quel moment la violation des droits conférés par la CCDV s’est-elle produite? Indiquez à quelle date les événements présumés ont commencé et à quelle date ils ont pris fin.

Le ministère de la Justice du Canada peut refuser de traiter une plainte si elle est déposée plus de quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours après les événements à l’origine de la plainte.

Rédigez une déclaration à l’appui de votre plainte.

Veuillez inclure les renseignements suivants :

  • Comment les droits que la CCDV vous confère ont-ils été violés ou niés (autrement dit, n’ont pas été respectés)?
  • Indiquez le nom au complet de la/les personne(s) visée(s) par votre plainte (si connue).
  • Qu’est-il arrivé? Indiquez la date de chaque événement.

Directives

Veuillez rédiger vos allégations sur des feuilles à part et joignez-les au présent formulaire. Le texte ne doit pas faire plus de trois (3) pages de format lettre (21,5 cm par 28 cm ou 8 ½ par 11 pouces), avec des marges d’au moins 2,5 cm ou 1 pouce, et devrait être tapé à simple interligne avec une police de 12 points, ou écrit lisiblement en lettres moulées à l’encre noire. Ne joignez pas d’autres documents à la plainte. Si votre plainte est accueillie, on pourrait vous demander de fournir ces documents à une date ultérieure. Les plaintes qui ne correspondent pas à ces exigences pourraient être renvoyées.

Veuillez lire la déclaration qui suit, puis signer et dater ci-dessous pour confirmer votre accord

Je dépose une plainte en vertu de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes (CCDV) pour qu’elle soit étudiée par le ministère de la Justice du Canada. J’ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les droits que la CCDV me confère en tant que victime d’actes criminels ont été violés ou niés. Je déclare que, à ma connaissance, l’information fournie est exacte.

Je comprends que les renseignements personnels fournis dans ce formulaire de plainte sont recueillis en vertu de la CCDV et que, comme tous les renseignements personnels obtenus ou compilés par le Ministère relativement à cette plainte, ils seront protégés aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette information sera utilisée ou communiquée aux fins du traitement de la présente plainte relative à la CCDV (ou à des fins compatibles) ou pour d’autres raisons prévues par la loi. Tout renseignement que j’ai fourni peut donc être communiqué au mis en cause.

Je consens à ce que tous les renseignements et les documents qui me concernent et que le Ministère estime nécessaires pour statuer sur ma plainte lui soient communiqués. Ces documents peuvent comprendre mes données ou dossiers personnels qui ont trait à la plainte.

Signature du (de la) plaignant(e) :

Consentement

Veuillez lire la déclaration qui suit, puis signer et dater ci-dessous pour confirmer votre accord :

Je consens à ce que le ministère de la Justice du Canada communique la présente demande à d’autres ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux, au besoin, si elle s’applique au mécanisme de plainte relative à la CCDV d’un autre ministère fédéral.

Sélectionnez le bouton qui s’applique à votre situation :

Signature du (de la) plaignant(e) :

Date de modification :